AfricaThe Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC)

Browse Countries

Where We Work

Where We Work

    The Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC)

    Despite the official end of war, the Democratic Republic of Congo continues to be plagued by violence, with civilians falling victim to widespread killings, rape forced displacement and other crimes. ICTJ provides technical assistance to government and civil society institutions in the DRC to advance an informed national debate on transitional justice and to implement specific accountability initiatives.

    Women at the Heal Africa Transit Center for women victims of sexual violence. Aubrey Graham.

    Background: Le Carnage continue

    La campagne organisée par Laurent-Désiré Kabila de 1996 à 1997 pour renverser le dictateur Mobutu Sese Seko avait provoqué une guerre civile violente et une présence prolongée des armées Rwandaises et Ougandaises à l’est du Congo. Le conflit a entrainé à des degrés divers une douzaine des pays africains. Au moment où le conflit prenait officiellement fin en 2002 grâce à un accord de paix signé en 2002, des violations des droits de l’homme et des crimes internationaux se sont poursuivies à de très hauts niveaux des conflits les plus complexes à l’est du pays.

    Les conflits armés qui se sont succédé en RDC ont été décrites comme étant les plus mortelles depuis la IIème Guerre Mondiale. On estime à 5,4 millions de morts causées par les dits conflits entre aout 1998 et avril 2007.

    Outre l’immense richesse en minerais, la dynamique de l’est comporte les disputes foncières, les tensions inter-ethniques et le chômage à grande échelle. Ces facteurs ont perpétué les conflits dans les territoires où l’état ne réussit pas encore à protéger le people congolais des vagues d’insécurité à grande échelle.

    Les éléments des forces gouvernementales, des forces étrangères et des groupes armés nationaux ont tous visé des civiles en violations flagrantes des droits humanitaires internationaux et des droits de l’homme dont l’assassinat, le viol et d’autres formes de violence sexuelle, le déplacement forcé, le recrutement des enfants soldats et le travail forcé. Cependant, hormis un nombre limité de cas, les auteurs demeurent impunis,

    Les différents gouvernements congolais qui se sont succédé ont réalisé des progrès limités, notamment en matière de la justice transitionnelle. Une Commission Vérité et Réconciliation inappropriée (TRC)—qui n’a pu réussir à enquêter sur les atrocités ni tenir des audiences publiques pour établir la vérité sur le conflit et les tueries massives—a fonctionné pendant la transition de juillet 2003 à février 2007.

    En 2004, le gouvernement congolais a invité la Cour Pénale Internationale (ICC) pour enquêter et poursuivre les crimes de guerre qui avaient été perpétrés depuis juillet 2002. La Cour pénale internationale a émis des mandats d’arrêts contre Thomas Lubanga Dyilo, Germain Katanga, and Mathieu Ngudjolo Chui—dont les procès sont en cours à la Haye depuis 2009. Un mandat d’arrêt contre Bosco Ntaganda a été émis en 2006 et descellé en 2008—cependant, ce dernier est toujours en liberté en République Démocratique du Congo.

    ICTJ's Role:

    ICTJ travaille sur plusieurs fronts de la justice transitionnelle en RDC.

    • Poursuites pénales: Nous travaillons avec le Ministère de la Justice et des bailleurs internationaux pour la reforme du système juridique. Nous partageons nos connaissances sur les crimes de guerre dans le cadre du système juridique local, notamment par la publication des observations sur le projet de loi portant sur la mise en œuvre proposée à la Chambre spéciale.
    • Recherche de la vérité et memorialisation: Nous formons les groupes de la société civile pour documenter les abus. Nous analysons et rendons compte sur la problématique de la TRC.
    • Réparations: Nous appuyons les efforts de réparations sur le plan local, national et international et avons publie un rapport sur les réparations judiciaires. Nous faisons la promotion de l’arrêt de la Cour Internationale de Justice demandant à l’Ouganda de payer les réparations pour les violations des droits de l’homme commises par les forces ougandaises en République Démocratique du Congo.
    • Justice liée au Genre: Nous travaillons en collaboration avec les organisations des droits de la femme et planifions des campagnes de plaidoyer mettre fin à des actes de violence sexuelle par les forces de sécurité. Ceci appelle la présentation d’une déclaration sur les étapes nécessaires pour la mise en œuvre de la Résolution du Conseil de Sécurité 1325 pour la RDC.
    • Reforme institutionnelle: Nous faisons le plaidoyer et apportons des conseils sur les initiatives pour la reforme du secteur de la sécurité. En 2009, nous avions organisé des programmes de formation pour les groupes de la société civile sur la corrélation entre la justice transitionnelle et la reforme de la police.

AfricaThe Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC)

Browse Countries
The Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC)

Despite the official end of war, the Democratic Republic of Congo continues to be plagued by violence, with civilians falling victim to widespread killings, rape forced displacement and other crimes. ICTJ provides technical assistance to government and civil society institutions in the DRC to advance an informed national debate on transitional justice and to implement specific accountability initiatives.

Women at the Heal Africa Transit Center for women victims of sexual violence. Aubrey Graham.

Background: Ongoing Carnage

Laurent Kabila’s 1996–1997 campaign to depose the dictator Mobutu Sese Seko set off a violent civil war and the extended presence in eastern Congo by Rwandan and Ugandan armies. The conflict involved to varying degrees over a dozen African countries. While the conflict officially ended with a peace agreement in 2002, human rights violations and international crimes continue at very high levels in complex conflicts in the country’s east.

The successive wars in the DRC have been described as the deadliest since World War II. An estimated 5.4 million people died from war-related causes between August 1998 and April 2007.

In addition to the country’s immense mineral wealth, the dynamics in the east include local land disputes, inter-ethnic tensions, and widespread unemployment. These factors drive continued conflicts in the region, where the state fails to protect the Congolese people amidst widespread insecurity.

Members of government forces, foreign and national armed groups and armies have all targeted civilians in flagrant violations of international humanitarian and human rights law. These include murder, rape and other forms of sexual violence, forced displacement, recruitment of child soldiers, and forced labor. But for a handful of cases, perpetrators remain unpunished

Successive Congolese governments have made limited progress with transitional justice efforts. A flawed Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC)—which failed to investigate atrocities or hold public hearings to establish the truth about the conflict and the mass killings—operated during the transition from July 2003 to February 2007.

In 2004, the Congolese government invited the International Criminal Court (ICC) to investigate and prosecute war crimes that had occurred since July 2002. The ICC issued arrest warrants for Thomas Lubanga Dyilo, Germain Katanga, and Mathieu Ngudjolo Chui—whose trials have been underway in The Hague since 2009.

ICTJ's Role:

ICTJ works on several different transitional justice fronts in the DRC.

  • Criminal prosecutions: We work with the Ministry of Justice and international donors to reform the legal system. We share knowledge about prosecuting international war crimes in the domestic legal system, including publishing comments on the proposed Special Chambers implementation bill.
  • Truth-seeking and memorialization: We train civil society groups to document abuses. We analyzed and reported on the problematic TRC.
  • Reparations: We support local, national and international reparations efforts, and have published a report on judicial reparations. We promote the International Court of Justice’s decision requiring Uganda to pay reparations for human rights violations committed by Ugandan forces in the Congo.
  • Gender justice: We partner with women’s rights organizations and plan advocacy campaigns to end the ongoing commission of sexual violence by security forces. This includes submitting a declaration on steps needed to implement SC Resolution 1325 in the DRC.
  • Institutional reform: We advocate for and advise on initiatives to reform the security sector. In 2009, we organized training programs for civil society groups on the links between transitional justice and police reform.