قبرص

لعدّة عقود من الزمن، طُبعت قبرص بالنزوح وحالات الإختفاء والإنقسام طويل الأمد. قام المركز الدولي للعدالة الإنتقالية بتنفيذ برنامج على مدى سنتين، لتسهيل النقاش حول الماضي بهدف مساعدة قبرص على العمل نحو مستقبل ديمقراطي ومستقرّ يتميّز باحترام الحقوق.

قبرص – أرامل وأمهات المفقودين (جورج جورجيو/صور بانوس)

الخلفية:

عانت قبرص في الفترة الممتدّة من 1963 إلى 1974 من نزاعات مستمرّة بين المجتمعين اليوناني القبرصي والتركي القبرصي. وقد أدّى الإنقلاب العسكري اليوناني في العام 1974، الذي دعمته المنظمات العسكرية القبرصية اليونانية، إلى تدخّل تركي نتج عنه تطهير عرقيّ وتبادل سكّاني. وكانت النتيجة إنقسامًا فعليًّا بين ما يُسمّى اليوم بقبرص التركية في الشمال وقبرص اليونانية في الجنوب.

خلال ذلك النزاع، مات الآلاف من الناس أو إختفَوا: فقد أفادت العائلات عن إختفاء 502 قبرصي تركي و1,493 يوناني تركي خلال تلك النزاعات، كما نزح أكثر من مئتَي ألف شخص من بيوتهم خلال تلك الفترة.

في العام 1974، أدّت سلسلة من المبادرات الدبلوماسية إلى وقف إطلاق النار، لكنّها فشلت في المصالحة بين الطرفَين المتنازعَين. وفي العام 1983، أعلن القبارصة الأتراك عن إقامة الجمهورية التركية لشمال قبرص المنفصلة سياسيًّا، والمعترَف بها فقطمن قِبَل تركيا.

في العام 1981، أنشأت الأمم المتّحدة لجنة لشؤون المفقودين تولّت مهام تقصّي جميع حالات الأشخاص المفقودين ذات الصلة بالنزاع. ومنذ شباط/فبراير2011، استطاعت هذه اللجنة إستعادة رفات أكثر من 760 شخصًا، وتعرّفت إلى رفات 263 شخصًا وأعادتهم لعائلاتهم.

في الفترة الممتدّة بين 1975 و2003، كانت حركة التنقّل بين جانبَني الجزيرة شبه ممنوعة ونشأ جيل على عدم معرفة المجتمع الآخر من القسم الثاني من الجزيرة.ومنذ العام 2003، جرى فتح عدد محدود من نقاط التفتيش، بما يسمح للناس بالوصول إلى جميع أقسام الجزيرة، ما أدّى إلى تغيّر كبير في سياق النزاع.

حاليًّا، لم يعد الإتّصال بين المجتمعَين خاضعًا للتنظيم على يد الأطراف الرسمية، واتّسع مجال اللحوار وبناء العلاقات، ما أثّر على توفير فرصة لمبادرات البحث عن الحقيقة والمصالحة، وهي في تزايد مستمرّ. في الوقت ذاته، يتزايد التوتّر مع بقاء النزاع بدون حلّ، كما تتزايد الحالات القانونية لردّ الحق إلى أصحابه أو التعويض على النازحين داخليًّا، بينما تواصل عائلات المفقودين ضغوطها لإكتشاف مصير أحبّائهم المفقودين.

منذ شباط/فبراير 2008، تجدّدت الجهود للتوصّل إلى حلّ للمشكلة القبرصية مع إطلاق محادثات سلام بين قادة المجتمعَين.

دور المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية:

منذ آذار/مارس 2009، يعمل المركز الدولي للعدالة الإنتقالية في قبرص على مساعدة المجتمع المدني ومنظمات الضحايا في معالجة ماضي الجزيرة العنيف، والتواصل مع مجتمعات أخرى في بلدان أخرى مرّت بمراحل إنتقالية مشابهة.

يعمل المركز من خلال ورش العمل والنقاشات وعرض الأفلام ومجموعات العمل لشقّ الطريق أمام المصالحة بين المجتمعَين والمحاسبة عن الماضي.

  • تجارب مشتركة: عمل المركز على فتح قنوات التواصل بين منظّمات الضحايا في قبرص ومنظّمات المجتمع المدني الأخرى في بلدان عاشت تجارب مشابهة، من ضمنها لبنان وجنوب أفريقيا ويوغسلافيا السابقة.
  • المصارحة: عمل المركز مع منظّمات المجتمع المدني وقادة المجتمع المحلّي والسياسيين. فعقدنا العديد من ورش العمل والنقاشات العامة حول المصارحة وتخليد الذكرى والتوثيق، وأسّسنا مجموعة عمل لتوفير منتدى يستطيع من خلاله أعضاءٌ من المجتمعَين مناقشة أساليب وطرق ملموسة لتنفيذ آليات المصارحة.
  • التوثيق: قدّم المركز النصح ووفّر مساعدة فنّية حول تضمين التوثيق وحفظ السجلّات مساهمةً في الجهود المستقبلية على مواجهة الماضي.
  • التثقيف: يعمل المركز، بالشراكة مع إلدرز (Elders) وجمعية الأبحاث والحوار التاريخي (AHDR)، على صياغة مواد تعليمية حول قضية الأشخاص المفقودين وتطويرها، لترافق الفيلم الوثائقي "نبش الماضي بحثًا عن المستقبل" الذي أنتجه إلدرز.
  • بناء القدرات: خلال تنفيذ المشروع الرئيسي الذي استغرق سنتين، إكتسب مستشارونا المحليون الخبرة حول العدالة الإنتقالية والمعرفة الخاصة بالمقارنة، اللتين ستبقيان موردًا لقبرص.

أصبح برنامج المركز الدولي للعدالة الإنتقالية ممكنًا من خلال تمويل قدّمه الإتّحاد الأوروبي، آذار/مارس 2009 – نيسان/أبريل 2011.

Cyprus

Displacement, disappearances, and long-standing division have marked Cyprus for decades. ICTJ carried out a two year program to facilitate discussion about the past to help Cyprus work towards a stable, rights-respecting and democratic future.

Cyprus - widows and mothers of the missing. (George Georgiou/Panos Pictures)

Background:

From 1963 to 1974, Cyprus experienced ongoing conflict between the Greek and Turkish Cypriot communities. A 1974 coup d’état by the Greek military and supported by Greek Cypriot paramilitaries spurred a Turkish intervention, which led to ethnic cleansing and population exchange. The result is an effective partition between what is now the Turkish Cypriot north and Greek Cypriot south.

Thousands of people died or disappeared during the conflict: 502 Turkish Cypriots and 1,493 Greek Cypriots were reported missing by their families. More than two hundred thousand were displaced from their homes over the course of the conflict.

A series of diplomatic initiatives in 1974 established a ceasefire but failed to reconcile the two factions. In 1983 the Turkish Cypriots declared the creation of the politically separate Turkish Republic of North Cyprus, recognized only by Turkey.

In 1981, the UN established the Committee on Missing Persons (CMP), charged with investigating all cases of missing persons related to the conflict. As of February 2011, the CMP has retrieved the remains of more than 760 individuals and identified and returned remains of 263 persons to their families.

Between 1975 and 2003, movement between the two sides was almost entirely forbidden, and a generation grew up without knowledge of the other community. Since 2003, a limited number of checkpoints opened, allowing people to have access to the whole island and causing a major shift in the context of the conflict.

Communication between the communities is no longer regulated by officials and there is more space for dialogue and relationship-building. This has also influenced the space for truth-seeking and reconciliation initiatives, which have been steadily increasing. At the same time, tension is also growing as the conflict remains unresolved; legal cases for restitution or compensation for internally displaced have increased significantly, and families of missing people continue to press for ways to find out what happened to their loved ones.

Since February 2008 there have been renewed efforts to find a solution to the Cyprus problem, with the launching of peace talks between the leaders of both communities.

ICTJ's Role:

ICTJ has worked in in Cyprus from March 2009, with the goal of helping civil society and victims’ groups address the island’s violent past, and connect with communities in other countries who have undergone similar transitions.

Through workshops, discussions, film screenings and working groups, ICTJ has sought to pave the way for reconciliation between the two communities and accountability for the past.

  • Shared experiences: ICTJ connected victims’ groups in Cyprus to other civil society organizations in countries that have had similar experiences, including Lebanon, South Africa and the former Yugoslavia.
  • Truth-telling: ICTJ worked with civil society organizations, local community leaders and politicians. We held several workshops and public talks on truth-telling, memorialization, and documentation, and created a working group to provide a forum in which members of both communities could discuss concrete approaches to implement truth-telling mechanisms.
  • Documentation: ICTJ consulted and provided technical assistance on streamlining documentation and preservation of records for future efforts to address the past.
  • Education: In partnership with The Elders and the Association for Historical Dialogue & Research (AHDR), ICTJ is finalizing development of educational materials on the missing persons issue to accompany the documentary Digging the Past in Search of the Future produced by the Elders.
  • Building capacity: Over the course of the principal two-year project, our local consultants gained expertise on transitional justice and comparative knowledge that will continue to be a resource for Cyprus.

The ICTJ Cyprus Program was made possible through funding from the European Union (EU), March 2009 – April 2011.