العدالة الجنائية

العدالة الجنائية

لا بد من محاسبة هؤلاء الذين يرتكبون الجرائم على نطاق واسع أو منتظم. يسعى برنامج العدالة الجنائية في المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية إلى تعزيز مبادرات العدالة الجنائية حول العالم، عبر تقديم المساعدة الفنية للذين يشاركون في تحقيقات وملاحقات قضائية معقّدة، وعبر تشارك الدروس المستخلصة من برامجنا الميدانية وأبحاثنا .

الصناعيون المتهمون في محاكمات نورمبرج – وغالباً ما ينظر إليها كسلائف مهمة لتدابير العدالة الانتقالية

يشكّل التحقيق في الجرائم الدولية والمحاكمة عليها – بما في ذلك جريمة الإبادة الجماعية، والجرائم ضدّ الإنسانية وجرائم الحرب – مكوّناً أساسياً للعدالة الإنتقالية.

ويجد هذا الواقع جذوره في الموجبات القانونية الدولية التي تعود إلى محاكمات نورمبرج، وقد استُكملت مع المحاكم الجنائية الدولية الخاصّة بيوغوسلافيا السابقة وبرواندا.

وتساعد التحقيقات مع القادة ذوي النفوذ (إن سياسيين أو عسكريين) ومحاكمتهم على حدّ سواء في تقوية سيادة القانون، وتبعث برسالة قوية مفادها أنّ الجرائم من هذا النوع لن يُسمح بها مطلقًا في مجتمع يحترم الحقوق.

ولا تزال المحاكمات مطلباً رئيسياً للضحايا. ومتى تمّت بأساليب تعكس حاجات الضحايا وتوقّعاتهم، أمكنها أن تضطلع بدور حيويّ في إعادة كرامتهم وتحقيق العدالة.

إلّا أنّ الملاحقات القضائية وحدها لا يمكنها تحقيق العدالة بمعزل عن تدابير أخرى. فالطبيعة الواسعة النطاق لهذه الجرائم تُظهر أنه غالباً ما يتعذّر معالجة هذه الأخيرة عبر نظام العدالة الجنائية العادي – ما يولّد "ثغرة الإفلات من العقاب". وغالباً ما تركّز استراتيجيات الملاحقة الفاعلة الخاصّة بالجرائم الواسعة النطاق على المخططين للجرائم ومنظمّيها، أكثر منه على ذوي المراكز الأقلّ شأناً أو مسؤولية.

ومن الممكن أن يساهم تطبيق استراتيجيات الملاحقة القضائية إلى جانب مبادرات أخرى – مثل برامج جبر الضرر، وإصلاح المؤسسات، والبحث عن الحقيقة – في سدّ "ثغرة الإفلات من العقاب"، بملاحقة الجرائم التي تشمل عدداً كبيراً من الضحايا والمرتكبين.

الملاحقات القضائية المحلية

إنّ الملاحقة القضائية على الجرائم الدولية قد تُحدِث أثراً أكبر متى تمّت متابعتها محلياً، ضمن المجتمع الذي ارتُكِبَت فيه الجرائم. إلا أنّ المجتمعات الخارجة من نزاع معيّن أو التي تمرّ بمرحلة انتقالية، قد تفتقر إلى الإرادة السياسية لملاحقة على هذه الجرائم، وقد تعجز الأنظمة القانونية أمام حالة مماثلة.

حتّى الأنظمة القانونية المتطوّرة – التي تعالج الجرائم العادية بشكل أساسي – قد تفتقر إلى القدرة على معالجة هذه الجرائم بفعالية.

وقد تستوجب هذه المشاكل المساعدة الدولية التي ترتكز على الممارسات الفضلى من أماكن أخرى – مثلاً بتشكيل محاكم "مختلطة" تضمّ شخصيّات فاعلة، دولية ومحلية، في مجال العدالة. وقد أُنشأت هذه المحاكم في سييراليون، وكوسوفو، والبوسنة، وتيمور الشرقية، وكمبوديا.

المحكمة الجنائية الدولية

في العام 2002، أسّس نظام روما الأساسي للمحكمة الجنائية الدولية. تعمل هذه المحكمة على التحقيق مع الأفراد المسؤولين عن الإبادة الجماعية، وجرائم الحرب، والجرائم ضدّ الإنسانية المرتكبة منذ الأوّل من تموز/يوليو 2002، وتعمل على محاكمتهم– في الحالات التي تكون الدول فيها غير راغبة أو غير قادرة على القيام بذلك.

وبموجب مبدأ "التكامل" المنصوص عليه في نظام روما الأساسي، يبقى من واجب المحاكم المحلية تحقيق العدالة – بحيث تكون المحكمة الجنائية الدولية الملاذ الأخير. وفي السنوات الأخيرة، أدّت المحاكم المحلية هذا الدور بشكل متزايد.

دور المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية

يؤمّن المركز المساعدة الكفأة والتحاليل والنصح إلى الحكومات والمجتمع المدني والأفراد أو المؤسسات المعنية بمجال العدالة. ونتشارك الدروس المستخلصة والممارسات الفضلى من مبادرات العدالة الجنائية حول العالم.

كما لدينا خبرة خاصة في كيفية تكيّف الأنظمة القانونية المحلية للتحقيق في الجرائم الواسعة النطاق أو المنتظمة مثل جرائم الحرب، والجرائم ضدّ الإنسانية والإبادة الجماعية، والملاحقة عليها.

  • في أوغندا وكينيا وجمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية، نحلّل ونوصي بالطرق التي تتيح تعزيز الملاحقات المحلية.
  • في كولومبيا، نقدّم الدعم القانوني إلى المعنيين في مجال العدالة وإلى ممثلي الضحايا في الإجراءات الجنائية ضدّ الأعضاء السابقين في المجموعات العسكرية غير الحكومية بموجب قانون العدل والسلام (2005).
  • في الأرجنتين، نقدّم النصح الفنّي إلى المدّعين العامين والمنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية الذين يعملون على الدعاوى الجنائية.
  • في بنغلادش، نحلّل ونساهم في مبادرة محكمة الجرائم الدولية لمحاكمة الجرائم الواسعة النطاق التي ارتُكِبَت في العام 1971.
  • في أفغانستان، ساعدنا لجنة حقوق الإنسان الأفغانية المستقلّة على توثيق جرائم الحرب والجرائم ضدّ الإنسانية من 1978 إلى 2001.
  • قمنا قدّمناب تحاليل ووضعنا تقارير أو قمنا بتأمين التزويد بمعلومات في حول محاكمات محلّية مهمة لقادة سياسيين سابقين، وحول أثرها على عملية مراحل الإنتقال، مثل محاكمتَي صدّام حسين أو األبرتو فوجيموري.
  • أجرينا أبحاث مقارنة حول النواحي السياسية، والقانونية أو الخاصة بالسياسات في المحاكم المختلطة في سيراليون والبوسنة وكمبوديا وكوسوفو وتيمور الشرقية ولبنان.
  • قمنا بإعداد وسائل مختلفة في مجال السياسات، بما في ذلك تقارير موجزة لمكتب المفوّض السامي لحقوق الإنسان في الأمم المتّحدة حول الدعاوى المحلية والمختلطة.

Criminal Justice

Criminal Justice

Those who commit crimes on a large or systematic scale should be held accountable. ICTJ’s Criminal Justice program seeks to strengthen criminal justice initiatives worldwide by providing technical assistance to those engaged in complex investigations and prosecutions and by sharing lessons learned from our field programs and research.

Accused Industrialists at Nuremberg Trials—often seen as important precursors to transitional justice measures.

The investigation and prosecution of international crimes—including genocide, crimes against humanity and war crimes—is a fundamental component of transitional justice.

It has roots in international legal obligations that can be traced back to the Nuremberg trials, and continue with the International Criminal Tribunals for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY) and Rwanda (ICTR).

Investigations and trials of powerful leaders (whether political or military) help strengthen the rule of law and send a strong signal that such crimes will not be tolerated in a rights-respecting society.

Trials remain a key demand of victims. When conducted in ways that reflect victims’ needs and expectations, they can play a vital role in restoring their dignity and delivering justice.

But prosecutions cannot achieve justice in isolation. The large-scale nature of such crimes means that they often cannot be processed through the ordinary criminal justice system—generating an "impunity gap." Effective prosecution strategies for large-scale crimes often focus on the planners and organizers of crimes, rather than those of lower rank or responsibility.

Implementing prosecution strategies with other initiatives—such as reparations programs, institutional reform, and truth-seeking—can help fill the "impunity gap" by addressing crimes with large numbers of victims and perpetrators.

Domestic Prosecutions

Prosecutions for international crimes have more potential for impact when they are held domestically, within the society where the crimes occurred. However, societies emerging from conflict or in transition may lack the political will to prosecute these crimes, and legal systems may be in disarray.

Even sophisticated legal systems—which mainly deal with ordinary crimes—may lack the capacity to effectively address such crimes.

These problems may require international assistance that draws on best practices from elsewhere—for instance through “hybrid” courts or tribunals, composed of international and domestic justice actors. Such courts have been created in Sierra Leone, Kosovo, Bosnia, Timor-Leste and Cambodia.

International Criminal Court

In 2002, the Rome Statute established the International Criminal Court (ICC). The ICC investigates and prosecutes individuals responsible for genocide, war crimes and crimes against humanity committed since July 1, 2002—in cases where countries are unwilling or unable to do so.

Under the Rome Statute’s “complementarity” principle, domestic courts continue to have the duty to deliver justice—so that the ICC remains a court of last resort. In recent years, domestic courts have increasingly taken up this role.

ICTJ’s Role

We provide expert assistance, analysis and advice to governments, civil society, and justice actors or institutions. We share lessons learned and best practices from criminal justice initiatives worldwide.

We have particular expertise on how domestic legal systems can adapt to investigate and prosecute large-scale or systematic crimes such as war crimes, crimes against humanity and genocide.

  • In Uganda, Kenya and DRC we analyze and recommend ways in which to strengthen domestic prosecutions.
  • In Colombia, we provide legal support to justice actors and victim representatives in criminal proceedings against former paramilitaries under the Justice and Peace Law (2005).
  • In Argentina, we provide technical advice to state prosecutors and local NGOs working on criminal prosecutions.
  • In Bangladesh, we analyze and provide input into the International Crimes Tribunal initiative to try widespread crimes that happened in 1971.
  • In Afghanistan, we assisted the Afghan Independent Human Rights Committee in documenting war crimes and crimes against humanity from 1978–2001.
  • We’ve analyzed and reported on, or provided amicus briefs in important domestic trials of former political leaders and their impact on the transitions, such as the trials of Saddam Hussein or Alberto Fujimori.
  • We’ve done comparative research on the political, legal and policy aspects of hybrid tribunals in Sierra Leone, Bosnia, Cambodia, Kosovo, East Timor and Lebanon.
  • We’ve prepared various policy tools, including briefs for the Office of the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights on domestic and hybrid prosecutions.