الأميركيتانالولايات المتحدة الأمريكيةالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية: جرينسبورو، كارولينا الشمالية

استعرض الدول
الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية: جرينسبورو، كارولينا الشمالية

عمل ناشطون وقادة في المجتمع المنقسم في كارولينا الشمالية على تنفيذ آليات عدالة على مستوى محلي. تشارك المركز الدولي للعدالة الإنتقالية معهم دروسًا من خبرات سابقة في مبادرة منه لدعم جهود المجتمع في بلوغ الحقيقة والعدالة.

مسيرة صامتة للناجين من مجزرة عام 1979 في وسط المدينة في جرينسبورو ، يوليو 2005 (الصورة من فليكر Flickr تابعة لايثان فيسلي فلاد)

الخلفية: دوافع عرقية وطبقية وسياسية وراء العنف المميت

في 3 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 1979، عمد أعضاء من كو كلوكس كلان وحزب نازي إلى إطلاق النار على تجمّع مختلط عرقيًّا من ناشطين سياسيين ومنظّمين عمّاليين في حيّ مورنينغسايد الواقع في جرينسبورو في كارولينا الشمالية. وفيما العدسات تصوّر، قتلوا خمسة وجرحوا عشرة أشخاص من المتظاهرين غير المسلّحين.

بعد عدّة ملاحقات قضائية فاشلة، بدا وكأنّ أسطورة المدينة المترسّخة حول الأحداث لا يمكن إلغاؤها. ولكن منذ العام 2004، بدأت لجنة جرينسبورو للحقيقة والمصالحة بكشف قصّة مختلفة وأكثر شمولية.

أجرت اللجنة مقابلات مع ناجين ومعاصرين وشهود ورجال شرطة وقضاة ومحامين وأفراد سابقين في الكوكلوكس كلان وحزب نازي، وعقدت جلسات إستماع علنية. وفي أيار/مايو 2006، قدّمت اللجنة تقريرها النهائي حول أحداث 1979 وأسبابها وعواقبها. وقد وجدت أنّ قرار رجال الشرطة بالبقاء بعيدًا، شكّل عاملًا خطيرًا في النتائج العنيفة، وأنّ المحلّفين غير الممثّلين للمجتمع ساهموا في إفلات الجناة من العقاب، وأنّ دائرة الشرطة ومديري المدينة الكبار "ضلّلوا عمدًا" الجماهير حول ما حدث، لكي يبعدوا المسؤولية عن الشرطة.

ولا يزال تقرير اللجنة مادةً مطعونًا بها، إلّا أنّ التقرير والمادّة التاريخية لأحداث 3 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر تُدرّس اليوم في الجامعات المحلّية بعد صمت طويل. ويقدّم التقرير لمجتمع منقسم بالريبة والنكران فرصةً للبدء في تناول قضايا صعبة ومعالجتها، لا سيّما التي تتعلّق بالعرق وبالاختلاف الطبقي وبالسياسة، وهي أمور يوضحها هذا التقرير الهام لتكون دائمة.

دور المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية:

قدّم المركز النصح لمشروع لجنة جرينسبورو للحقيقة والمصالحة في تطويرها فكرة عملية حقيقة محلية غير حكومية، وتحديد صلاحيات لجنة الحقيقة والمصالحة، وتصميم عملية إختيار لجنة مستقلّة ذات مصدقية.

وخلال العملية، قدّم المركز لأعضاء اللجنة وطاقم العمل النصح الفني، ومعلومات مقارنة ذات صلة، وإتّصالات مع خبراء ومهنيين ممارسين شاركوا في أعمال مشابهة حول العالم.

  • شارك خبراء لدى المركز الدولي للعدالة الإنتقالية بخبراتهم العملية من البيرو وجنوب أفريقيا ومن أماكن أخرى من العالم.
    *وثق كتاب: التعلّم من جرينسبورو: الحقيقة والمصالحة في الولايات المتّحدة الأمريكية، من إعداد ليزا ماغريل من المركز الدولي للعدالة الإنتقالية، وجويا وسلي عضو طاقم العمل في لجنة جرينسبورو للحقيقة والمصالحة، العملية لإيصالها لمجتمعات أخرى.
  • شاركنا بخبراتنا التي حصلنا عليها من جرينسبورو في مشاريع ناشئة أخرى للبحث عن الحقيقة في المسيسيبي وماين وميشيغان.

AmericasUnited StatesU.S.A - Greensboro, NC

Browse Countries
U.S.A - Greensboro, NC

Activists and leaders in a divided community in North Carolina worked to implement justice mechanisms on a local level. ICTJ shared lessons from other experiences to assist the community’s efforts to achieve truth and justice.

A silent march of 1979 massacre survivors and friends through downtown Greensboro, July 2005. (Ethan Vesely-Flad, on Flickr)

Background: Race, Class and Politics Behind Deadly Violence

On November 3, 1979 in the Morningside neighborhood of Greensboro, North Carolina, members of the Ku Klux Klan and Nazi Party opened fire on a racially mixed gathering of political activists and labor organizers. They killed five and wounded ten among the mostly unarmed demonstrators, as news cameras rolled.

After several failed prosecutions, an entrenched city mythology about the events seemed irreversible. But from 2004, the Greensboro Truth and Reconciliation Commission (GTRC) began to reveal a different, more inclusive story.

The commission interviewed survivors, contemporaries and witnesses, police, judges and lawyers, former Klansmen and Nazis, and held public hearings. In May 2006, the Commission presented its final report on the events of 1979, and their causes and consequences. The Commission found that the decision of the police to stay away was a critical factor in the violent outcome, that juries unrepresentative of the community contributed to impunity for the killings, and that the police department and key city managers “deliberately misled” the public about what had happened, in order to shift responsibility away from the police.

The Commission’s report is still contested terrain, but the report and the history of November 3 is being taught in local universities after a long silence. It offers a community divided by suspicion and denial a chance to begin addressing the difficult issues of race, class and politics indelibly illustrated in this groundbreaking report.

ICTJ's Role:

ICTJ advised the GTRC’s initiating project as they developed the idea of a local, non-governmental truth process, crafted the mandate of the TRC and designed a process for selecting an independent and credible commission.

Throughout its operation, we provided the Commissioners and their staff with technical advice, relevant comparative information, and contacts with experts and practitioners involved in similar work around the world.